about angels

January 23, 2007

I heard someone saying the other day that kids are very lucky to have their guardian angels, otherwise they would be in great danger due to their carelessness.

But let me tell you another story. When I was little I had the nasty habit of stealing things. I used to go to the market to buy stuff for my mother. There, there was the cheap jewelry booth kept by a Gypsy family. It attracted me like a fly is attracted to the light bulb. I don’t know to this day if the Gypsies ever saw me. I used to tryout things, as if I was interested in buying them. When I thought nobody was looking I just slipped them into my groceries bag.

But things got to an end one day. My mum observed I had all kinds of ornaments that she never had paid for: hair clips, bracelets, even a pair of huge sun glasses, that could cover two thirds of my face. And so she asked… She said that she didn’t care whether I was telling the truth or not because she didn’t need to punish me. That was my guardian angels task. And it knew everything…

Smart me, I didn’t wait for this to happen. I got rid of all the “borrowed” stuff on the spot and started a clean life.

Leave a comment